The 7th International Conference on Advanced Nanoparticle Generation and Excitation by Lasers in Liquids (ANGEL)

Charlottesville, Virginia, USA, May 26-30, 2024

   ANGEL Awards

Best oral and poster student presentation awards — At each ANGEL conference, best oral and poster student presentations are selected for awards.

Fojtik Henglein Prize — Named after the inventors of the laser-based synthesis of nanoparticle colloids, Arnim Henglein and Anton Fojtik, the prize is awarded every two years to a leading scientist whose work represents a significant scientific breakthrough in the field of laser synthesis and processing of colloids.

Past awardees:

2018: Bilal Gökce, University of Wuppertal, Germany, "for a highly cited article on increasing the productivity of laser-based nanoparticle production" (news story)

2021: Leonid V. Zhigilei, University of Virginia, USA, "for valuable atomistic predictions of nanoparticle formation during laser ablation in liquid" (news story)

2021: Anton Plech, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany, "for work on in situ x-ray studies, discovering structural dynamics in laser ablation and laser fragmentation in liquid" (news story)

Shafeev Award — Named after one of the most daring pioneers in the field of laser-based synthesis of nanoparticles, Georgy Shafeev, the award is granted every two years to a young scientist at the undergraduate, graduate, or postdoctoral level, whose work represents a particularly creative scientific achievement or an idea in the field of advanced nanoparticle generation and excitation by lasers in liquids.

The inaugural winner of the Shafeev Award will be selected at the 2024 conference in Charlottesville.

Student Awards 2016
Student Awards, 2016
    Student Awards 2018
Student Awards, 2018
    Fojtik Henglein Prize 2018
Fojtik Henglein Prize, 2018